photos by Amanda Dittmar | for Weekender

Man of the Week: Taylor Bamrick

Print This Page


    photos by Amanda Dittmar | for Weekender Dittmar | for Weekender Dittmar | for Weekender Dittmar | for Weekender Dittmar | for Weekender Dittmar | for Weekender Dittmar | for Weekender Dittmar | for Weekender

    Full name: Taylor Bamrick

    Age: 22

    Hometown: Garden City, Michigan

    Favorite Weekender feature: Quick Chord. I think it’s really cool to have a feature in the local paper that showcases new and young bands/artists and helps promote them.

    Favorite bar/restaurant: It’s probably been said a million times, but Angelo’s Pizza is probably my favorite place to sit down and enjoy a meal.

    What are you passionate about? I’ve been passionate about photography since I was about 13 or 14. I got my first camera around that age and since then I haven’t seemed to put one down. I’ve always used it as a personal creative outlet, but someday I’d hope to find a way to do it for a living. I’ve also always been into music. If it wasn’t for music I wouldn’t know any of the people that I know, I wouldn’t have the friends that I have. I wouldn’t even be living here in Pennsylvania if it weren’t for music. It’s really crazy how a little music scene can really shape and impact your life in so many different ways.

    Who do you admire? I have a lot of people that I admire and look up to. First one that comes to mind is my wonderful girlfriend, Rachel Lombardo. She helps me out more than anyone and I’d probably die if I didn’t have her by my side. I also tremendously admire my mother. She’s one of the strongest people I know and I look up to her in a countless number of ways. My grandmother is 86 years old and her favorite restaurants are Taco Bell and White Castle so it’s impossible for me to not list her in this. Also I admire any one of my friends who pushes themselves to create something for themselves, whether it be music, art, photography, anything. If it weren’t for my friends’ creative drive, I probably wouldn’t have much of one myself.

    What’s something most people don’t know about you?

    I was born and raised just outside of Detroit, Michigan and I lived there until 2014. I actually just moved to Kingston a year ago this month. It’s been really exciting and stressful all at once, but I wouldn’t want to have done it any other way.

    Are you a dog person or a cat person? This is hard, I like them both. I can hang just as hard with a cat as I can with a dog and I guess they have their own list of pros and cons in my head. But I couldn’t honestly pick a side.

    If you had to pick, would you want someone with beauty or brains? Brains. Physical beauty is great and all, but personality is key. Intelligence is something I really admire in other people.

    My last meal would be … A mini from Angelos. Crazy Bread from Little Caesars. 10 piece spicy chicken nugget from Wendy’s. 4 piece mozzarella stick from Arby’s. Oreo milkshake from Denny’s. A 20oz bottle of Orange Crush. And to top it all off, a king size Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup for desert. I’d die a happy man after that meal.

    My theme song would be … Only song that comes to mind is The Boy With the Thorn in His Side by The Smiths.

    My best concert was … This is a tough one … I probably lost my mind more than I ever have at the first American Nightmare reunion in Boston in 2011. A close second is when Mineral reunited last year and played in Philly, that’s something I thought I’d never get to see.

    For a good time I … I sing in a hardcore punk band called Witness Protection. Singing in a band is something that is really new and exciting for me and it’s just another creative and emotional outlet for me. Taking photographs is also a big one. Any time I leave the house I have a camera with me and I’m always taking pictures of my friends or random people or things I see on the street.